Home About History


The High Value Practice Academic Alliance was created in June 2016 by Pamela T. Johnson, MD, Vice Chair of Quality and Safety in Radiology and Johns Hopkins Health System High Value Care lead, and Roy Ziegelstein, MD, Vice Dean for Education at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, to serve as a national forum for academic institutions to come together, advance successful value-based quality improvement and engage their trainees in this important work. They direct the alliance with two of Johns Hopkins high value champions, hospitalists Leonard Feldman, MD and Amit Pahwa, MD.

The organization’s charter was ratified in January 2017. After a very successful 1st year of operations, the HVPAA directors recognized the need for leadership expansion to effectively advance the various initiatives that the organization had undertaken. In December 2017, 8 new directorship roles were created to lead different arms of the alliance, and applications were solicited from all HVPAA faculty members. Twenty faculty leaders from 15 academic medical centers have been appointed as Committee Directors.

Drs. Feldman, Pahwa and Johnson also lead the Johns Hopkins Health System High Value Care Committee. In 2017, Johns Hopkins Hospital recognized their work by selecting the team for the Innovations in Clinical Care Award. More recently, the Johns Hopkins Health System High Value Care Committee has been awarded the 2018 Society of Hospital Medicine Award for Teamwork in Quality Improvement.