Visit HVPAA.org

Architecture of High Value Health Care: Poster Gallery

Please click on the image of each poster below to view or download.

Clinical care pathways or reducing unwarranted practice variability

Assessment and Evaluation of Sign Out Skills

Alison Koransky, MD
Internal Medicine, Lewis Katz School of Medicine at Temple University
alison.koransky@tuhs.temple.edu

Impact of Ongoing Front-End Redesign

Barbara Maliszewski, RN, MS, NEA-BC
Department of Emergency Medicine, Johns Hopkins Hospital
bmalisz1@jhmi.edu

Improving ICU Intra-Hospital Transports

Gabrielle Matias, MD
Loyola University Medical Center
josegabrielle.matias@luhs.org

Breast Cancer Screening Adherence

Matthew Reeder
The Cleveland Clinic Foundation
reederm3@ccf.org

Using QI to Reduce Malnutrition in Infants with CDH

Jennifer Davis, MSN, RN, CBC
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
DavisJT@chop.edu

Best Multidisciplinary Initiative Award Winner

Implementing a Choosing Wisely Approach in Family Medicine Clinics

Noor Kawmi
Pennstate College of Medicine
noor.kawmi@gmail.com

Improving Code Status Discussion and Documentation at HCA Florida Hospital

Keishla M. Garcia Fernandez, MD
University of Central Florida/HCA Healthcare GME Consortium
Keishla.garciafernandez@ucf.edu

Iterative Input to Optimize Transition of Care Curriculum

Matan Arnon, DO
Temple University Hospital
arnonm2@upmc.edu

Appropriate Aspirin Use for Primary Prevention

Adam Fawaz, MD
Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Internal Residency Program
fawaza2@ccf.org

Social Determinants of Health Predict Mortality among Brain Tumor Patients

Sachiv Chakravarti
Johns Hopkins University
schakr23@jhu.edu

Standardizing a Process for Identifying OOC HIV Patients

Rebeca Diaz-Reyes
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
rdiazre1@jhu.edu

Improving Turnaround Times for Inpatient Examinations

Elizabeth Dobben, MD
Henry Ford Health Department of Radiology
elizabethd@rad.hfh.edu

Impact of Epic Chat Discharge Priority Groups

Erwin Wang, MD, MHA
NYU Langone Hospital–Brooklyn
erwin.wang@nyumc.org

Health equity: improving equitable delivery of high quality, affordable care

CDK 4/6 Inhibitor Cost-effectiveness in Breast Cancer Treatment

Anjali Bhatt
Texas A&M School of Medicine
anjalidbhatt20@tamu.edu

Improving Care for Spanish-Speaking Patients

Theresa Tran
Lewis Katz School of Medicine, Temple University
tuf85652@temple.edu

Equitable Delivery of High Value Care Award Winner

High value care educational curricula (medical school, GME, CE, CME)

Opportunity cost in cataract surgery

Brittany Tsou
Albany Medical Center
btsou1@jhmi.edu

Improving Education on Cost-Effective Care for Neurosurgery Residents

Sachiv Chakravarti
Johns Hopkins University
schakr23@jhu.edu

High-Value Care in Pre-Clinical Medical Education: A pilot

Elle Clelland
University of California, San Francisco
elle.clelland@ucsf.edu

Laying Quality in the Foundation

Zachary Corey
Penn State College of Medicine
zcorey@pennstatehealth.psu.edu

Integrating High Value Care and Patient Safety Longitudinally

Jacob Mansfield, BA
Washington State University
jacob.mansfield@wsu.edu

Email-Facilitated HVC Case Competition

Hannah Kay, MD
University of Colorado Anschutz Campus, Children’s Hospital of Colorado
hannah.kay@childrenscolorado.org

Medical Student Experiences with High-Value Care

Christian N. Hopkins
JHUSOM
chopki22@jhmi.edu

Patient Class Determines Vastly Different Payments for Identical Hospitalizations

Charles F. S. Locke, MD
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
clocke1@jh.edu

High Value Care in Clinical Skills Curriculum

Rayghan Larick
Eastern Virginia Medical School
larickrs@evms.edu

Best Educational Curriculum Award Winner

Virtual vs. In-Person HVC Course

Alexia Markowski
The Ohio State University College of Medicine
alexia.markowski@osumc.edu

Resource Stewardship and Cost of Care

Tanner Mitton
UT Southwestern Medical Center
tanner.mitton@utsouthwestern.edu

Patient-Centered Workouts to Teach HVC

Glenn Moulder, MD
University of Virginia School of Medicine
gam8f@virginia.edu

Teaching High Value Medication Prescribing

Nathan Yee
University of Massachusetts Chan Medical School
nathan.yee@umassmed.edu

Medical Student HVCCC Attitudes

Hunter Niehus
Oregon Health & Science University
niehus@ohsu.edu

Value-Based Healthcare Case Competition for Health Professional Students

Anjeli Patel, BS
Medical College of Georgia
apatel17@augusta.edu

Project Based Quality & Safety Curriculum for pediatric Trainees

Fauzia M. Shakeel, MD, CPHQ, FAAP
Johns Hopkins All Children’s Hospital
fshakee1@jhmi.edu

Evaluating a Value-Based Health Care Elective in Undergraduate Medical Education

Sanjana Reddy, BSA
University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio Long School of Medicine
reddys1@livemail.uthscsa.edu

Evaluation of HVC Lesson for Pre-Clinical Medical Students

Anitra Karthic
The Ohio State University College of Medicine
anitra.karthic@osumc.edu

Interest Group Supplements Health Systems Sciences Education

Lisa Yoder, BS
Penn State College of Medicine
lyoder3@pennstatehealth.psu.edu

Improving appropriateness of diagnostic or screening services (consultations, labs, imaging exams, cardiac telemetry, EEG, echocardiography, etc)

The echocardiogram effect on length of stay

Alisha Maity, MD
Lankenau Medical Center
alishaparo@gmail.com

Racial Disparities in Laboratory Monitoring of Isotretinoin

Divya Manoharan, BA
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
dmanoha1@jhmi.edu

Reducing Inappropriate Vitamin D Screening

Nessreen Mestari, MPA
NYC Health+ Hospitals
mestarin@nychhc.org

Orthopedic Surgeon Recommendations for Imaging

Shyam Ramachandran
Texas A&M School of Medicine
shyamram5@tamu.edu

Series We Do For a Reason

Jennifer K. Readlynn, MD, FHM
University of Rochester School of Medicine & Dentistry
jennifer_readlynn@urmc.rochester.edu

Appropriate Imaging Selection for Patients with Hip/Shoulder Pain

Davis Lane Rogers, MD
Johns Hopkins Hospital, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery
droger23@jhmi.edu

Nutritional Rehabilitation in Eating Disorder Patients

Miyabi Saito
University of Virginia School of Medicine
ms5uq@virginia.edu

Thyroid Function Screening Quality Improvement Project

Sara Velayati, MD
Long Island Community Hospital
sara.velayati@gmail.com

Reducing Inappropriate Thyroid Testing

Da Wi Shin
NYC Health +Hospitals/Mount Sinai Medical School
shind2@nychhc.org

Utilization of the FIB-4 for Appropriate NAFLD Consultation

Stephanie Lopez Orizondo, MD
UCF/HCA Healthcare GME, Greater Orlando
stephanie.lopez2@ucf.edu

Comfort Measures Blood Draws

Joseph S. Wallins, MD, MPH
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
wallinsj@mskcc.org

Choosing Wisely Materials in Case Based Learning

Nathanael Jensen
University of Utah School of Medicine
nathanael.jensen@hsc.utah.edu

Implementation of decision support for the evaluation of new fever in the pediatric intensive care unit

Anna Sick-Samuels, MD, MPH
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
asick1@jhmi.edu

A QI Initiative to Improve Anemia Evaluation

Lauren M. Granat, DO, MS
Cleveland Clinic Internal Medicine Residency Program
granatl2@ccf.org

Redundant Inflammatory Marker Use

Kathryn Bakkum, MD
Akron Children’s Hospital
kbakkum@akronchildrens.org

Improving Pandemic-Related Colon Cancer Screening Rates

Matthew Genelin
University of Colorado School of Medicine
matthew.genelin@cuanschutz.edu

A Multifaceted Approach to Test Overutilization in Rheumatology

Saloni Goyal, DO
Lehigh Valley Health Network
salonigoyal794@gmail.com

EB Guideline for ED Urinary Catheter Management

Harry Flaster, MD
Johns Hopkins Department of Emergency Medicine
hflaste1@jh.edu

Reducing Repeat Inpatient TTEs

Becca Engels, MD, MPH
Johns Hopkins Hospital
rengels2@jh.edu

HIS through PHRs among Women Susceptible to Breast Cancer

Hyunmin Kim, Ph.D.
The University of Southern Mississippi School of Health Professionals

Telemetry Decision Support Tools Effecton Alarm Burden and Use

Trent Johnson, MD
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
tjohn261@jh.edu

Improving appropriateness of treatment / interventional services (medications, transfusions, endoscopy, interventional radiology, surgery, etc)

Analysis of Red Blood Cell Transfusions During COVID-19

Adelaide Kwon, MD
UT Southwestern Medical Center
addiekwon@gmail.com

Improve Decision-to-Delivery Interval Time through Implementation of “STAT OB”

Nabeelah M. Abandi
Johns Hopkins Aramco Healthcare
muna.shehadeh@hotmail.com

Novel Algorithm to Calculate Preoperative Hemoglobin Target

Ananda Thomas
Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine—Johns Hopkins
athom136@jhu.edu

Massive Transfusion: Knowing When to Stop

Ananda Thomas
Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine—Johns Hopkins
athom136@jhu.edu

Development of a Diabetes Education Program

Dave Young
University of Washington
dyoun200@gmail.com

Standardization of Postoperative Appendectomy Management in General Pediatric Surgery

Veronica Natale, MPH
Johns Hopkins Hospital
vnatale1@jhu.edu

Are We Following Guidelines for COPD Exacerbations Treatment?

Htay Htay Kyi, MD
Rutgers New Jersey Medical School
htaykyi2008@gmail.com

Transfusion of Single Unit Plasma in a Multihospital

Michael A. Benson
Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine
mb277718@ohio.edu

Improving Depression Remission, Federally Qualified Health Center

Andrew Bodlak
Creighton University School of Medicine
aab33717@creighton.edu

Optimizing Oxygen Therapy: Is More Better?

Guru Chinnaraj, MD
UCF HCA Greater Orlando GME
gurunandharaja.chinnaraj@ucf.edu

Improving care transitions, including hospital discharge

Improving Discharge Rate Before Noon: A QI project

Logen L. Breehl, DO
Akron Children’s Hospital
lbreehl@akronchildrens.org

Surgical Hospitalists Improve Patient Satisfaction and Efficiency

Chetan Virmani, MD, MPH
Langone Brooklyn Medical Center
chetan.virmani@nyulangone.org

HiToC SNF STUDY

Sonia Dalal, MD
Johns Hopkins Hospital
sdalal7@jhmi.edu

Analysis of Patient Portal Enrollment During Care Transitions

Jamie Schlacter, BS
NYU Grossman School of Medicine
jamie.schlacter@nyulangone.org

Improving Inter-team Communication by Standardizing Written Sign Out

Taikchan Lildar, MD
Flushing Hospital Medical Center
tlildar@yahoo.com

Patient Awareness of Healthcare Providers

Abhijit Marathe, MD
University of Central Florida HCA Healthcare GME
abhijit.marathe@ucf.edu

Leveraging an interprofessional team for complex discharge planning

Ada Offurum, MD
University of Maryland School of Medicine
aibe@som.umaryland.edu

Smart Phrase Communication in a Palliative Care Continuum

Imran Shariff, MD
OACIS Palliative Care Lehigh Valley Health Network
imran.shariff@lvhn.org

Promoting effective communication by promoting interdisciplinary rounds

Saida Kent, MD
St. Louis University Hospital
sakent13@gmail.com

Improving Handoffs for Direct Admissions to Medicine Services

Seth Scheetz, MD
University of Chicago Medicine
seth.scheetz@uchospitals.edu

Increasing Rate of Early Discharge

Victoria Odeleye, MD
University of Central Florida HCA Healthcare GME
victoria.odeleye@ucf.edu

Use of a Systems Factors Approach to Reviewing 100% of Mortalities in a Pediatric Setting

Veronica Natale, MPH
Johns Hopkins Hospital
vnatale1@jhu.edu

Information technology innovations

Challenges of administrative data use in quality data reporting

Anirudh Saraswathula, MD
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
asarasw2@jhmi.edu

Increasing Healthcare Connectivity Among Home-Based Palliative Patients

Jessica Fenton
Lehigh Valley Health Network
jessica.fenton@lvhn.org

Removing a Racist Term

Talene A. Metjian, Pharm.D.
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia
metjian@chop.edu

Opioid stewardship

Analysis of the Johns Hopkins Personalized Pain Program

Meher Kalkat, BS
Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
mkalkat1@jhmi.edu

Opioid Analgesic Stewardship in Acute Pain Clinical Care Standard

Steven Waller
eHealth and Medication Safety, Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
steve.waller@safetyandquality.gov.au

Optimization of patient care setting to reduce ED utilization

A Multi-Disciplinary Initiative To Improving Management of Heart Failure

Lavina Patel, BSN, RN
Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
lpatel8@jhmi.edu

Preventative medicine or evidence-based screening

Pneumococcal and Influenza Vaccination Rates

Anila Hussain, MD
Crozer Chester Medical Center
dr.anila.s@outlook.com

Increasing OSA Screening in Resident Primary Care Clinics

Jenna Carson, MD
Cleveland Clinic
carsonj4@ccf.org

Best Residency Initiative Award Winner

Provider behavior modification (comparative effectiveness of interventions)

Human Centered Design of the Infant Sleep Assessment

Andrea Rosen, MPH
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
arosen62@jhu.edu

M
"

Topics

Clinical care pathways or reducing unwarranted practice variability

Health equity: improving equitable delivery of high quality, affordable care

High value care educational curricula

Improving appropriateness of diagnostic or screening services

Improving appropriateness of treatment/interventional services

Improving care transitions, including hospital discharge

Information technology innovations

Opioid stewardship

Optimization of patient care setting to reduce ED utilization

Preventative medicine or evidence-based screening

Provider behavior modification